My extended #whole30 continues and with a few, relatively innocuous cravings, I haven’t had much trouble committing fully to the program. But last weekend, I wound up driving by my favorite taco place far too many times for comfort. So I knew I needed to tacoify something for dinner. Enter my ‘no shell, no problem’ taco salad over sautéed kale. It was everything I hoped it would be and oh so much more.

Taco seasoning (straight outta the package) is loaded with a lot of unnecessary things (namely, sugar) so I raided the freezer for grassfed beef and hit up my spice rack for anything I could find that might lead me to those taco flavors. Here’s what I wound up with:

sautéed kale and onion taco salad

what you need:

  • 1 package grassfed beef (80/20 or 85/15)
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 avocado
  • bunch of kale
  • 1 tbsp grassfed butter or ghee (the gold Kerrygold is my go-to)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • chili powder
  • cumin
  • cayenne pepper
  • paprika
  • cast iron skillet or frying pan

what you do:

Brown the beef over medium high heat. Once cooked through, add spices. I started with about a tsp of each salt, chili powder, cumin, and paprika and mixed it in. Then I added a (1/4 tsp sized) dash or black pepper and cayenne pepper. If it’s hard to mix in your spices, add a couple tbsp water and let it simmer. Taste and add more spices as needed. Once it starts to look like taco meat, set aside.

While the beef cooks, slice up your onion and prepare your kale. I’m a fan of half or quarter moons, but you can do whatever you want. Half an onion is about all you need for 1-2 people. For the kale, a simple wash and rough chop is all you really need to do. I hate the stems so I tend to remove the stems first then wash and roughly chop. Of course if you forget to roughly chop it, you just get bigger bites 🙂

Once your meat is done and your onion is chopped, in another pan, over medium high heat, melt your butter or ghee and add the onion. Sauté until the onion is translucent.

Then add your kale and kick the heat up. Sauté on high until the kale is wilted to desired wiltiness. Now you’re ready to assemble.

Plate it up with the kale and onion mixture on the bottom, add your beef, then top with some sliced cherry tomatoes (or any kind of tomato you have on hand really) and top with half a sliced avocado. Enjoy!

suggested sides:

  • absolutely nothing else is needed but if you want to get fancy…
  • tequila (if you’re not on a whole30)
  • tortilla chips (same disclaimer as above)
  • and if you have leftovers for breakfast, follow all the instructions above but #putaneggonit. a fried egg topper makes this extra delicious
