So, you know those Buzzfeed Tasty videos that go around Facebook and teach you how to make all sorts of delicious (unhealthy, #notpaleo) things in 90 seconds or less? Well, I got sucked in one day by a spinach dip stuffed meatball and I thought, “I can make that paleo!” So this was my attempt to do so. I’m mid #whole30 so I’m on the hunt for all sorts of recipes that I can turn into quick and compliant dinners. Thankfully, Juli Bauer has a paleo (and #whole30approved) spinach and artichoke dip, which got me started. And I’d just read a page from Michelle Tam’s NomNomPaleo where she suggested using cauliflower mash to moisten up her meatballs, so I tried my hand at putting two and two together. Here was the Tasty inspiration; very very #notpaleo, and then, my version.

spinchoke meatballs

what you need:

  • 1 cup paleomg’s spinach artichoke dip (Juli’s is perfectly paleo but you could probably use something store bought if you aren’t paleo and are short on time)
  • 1 package ground beef (grassfed preferred)
  • 2 tbsp almond meal
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp  (optional, but recommended) magic mushroom powder
  • fresh herbs if you have them; I used a sprig of rosemary and 2 sprigs of thyme
  • ghee (trader joe’s has some, I discovered, which worked perfectly. coconut oil would be a good alternative if needed)
  • frying pan
  • spoon (optional :))
  • wire rack (optional)

what you do:

Add spinach artichoke dip, ground beef, almond meal, herbs, salt, pepper and some magic mushroom powder (if using) to a mixing bowl.

Roll up your sleeves and get in there and mix, mix, mix it up.

Heat your frying pan over medium-high heat and add 1 tbsp ghee (or coconut oil, if using that instead).

Take a spoonful of your meatball mixture and roll it between your hands to make a ball. I like my meatballs a little on the smaller side so I have many of them to eat throughout the week.

Add it to the pan. Repeat until you’ve filled, but not overcrowded your pan.

Fry for 3-4 minutes on each side until cooked through and crisp around the edges then remove to a paper towel lined plate (with a wire rack over it if you have one).

Repeat.

Let’s be honest, after the first batch comes out, taste. And if it needs a little more salt, sprinkle some sea salt on the top. And feel free to add some more salt or magic mushroom powder to your mixture for your second and third batches.

suggested sides:

  • cauliflower fautxatoes and sautéed kale
  • or straight outta the fridge
  • or for breakfast with a fried egg

special thanks to paleomg and nomnompaleo for having so many awesome recipes from which I draw inspiration.

meatballskalecauliflowermash

 

